## City Council Composition: Italics - cities operate under Home Rule Charters (Article LXXXIX of state constitution)

ALL DISTRICT MEMBERS (1)

ALL AT LARGE MEMBERS - all councils below except Medford have 9 members

Barnstable (Note 1)

Cambridge (a) Fall River

Haverhill

Lowell

North Adams

Franklin (Note 2)

Medford (b)

Southbridge (Note 2)

Taunton

(a) Cambridge is the only city to elect by proportional representation

(b) Medford is the smallest council – 7 members

	COMBINATION:	Agawam	Brockton	Greenfield (Note 6)	Methuen (Note 7)	Salem
	Majority District (32)	Amesbury	Chelsea	Lawrence	New Bedford	Somerville
	(see next page)	Attleboro	Chicopee	Leominster	Newburyport	Springfield (Note 3)
		Beverly	Easthampton	Lynn	Northampton	Waltham
	. 5	Boston	Everett (Note 5)	Malden	Peabody	Weymouth
, В		Braintree (Note 4)	Fitchburg	Marlborough	Pittsfield	Winthrop (Note 1)
		Bridgewater (eff.	2010)	Melrose	Quincy	Woburn
		_				
	COMBINATION:	Gardner	Newton (Note 8)	Randolph	West Springfield	
	Majority At Large (9)	Gloucester	Palmer (Note 1)	Watertown	Westfield	
	(see next page)	Holyoke			Worcester	

Note 1: Councillors elected for 4 year terms; the Barnstable home rule charter limits councillors to three four-year terms (12 years total).

Note 2: Prior to its 1996 charter revision, the Franklin Council was composed of 15 members, 2 from each of five districts and 5 members at large. Prior to its 2003 charter revision, Southbridge elected 13 councillors, 2 from each of 5 districts, and 3 at large.

Note 3: Effective at the November 2009 municipal election, Springfield elected 8 district councillors and 5 at-large councillors (previously all

Note 4: Braintree adopted a mayor-council charter at its municipal spring election in 2006; after approval by the state legislature of this special act charter, the mayor and council were elected in 2007, taking office in January, 2008.

Note 5: Everett is the only city government in the United States with a bi-cameral (two chamber) legislative body -- a common council of 18 members and a Board of Aldermen of seven members. This is the largest city government legislative body in Massachusetts (25 members).

Note 6: In Greenfield, both the mayor and councilors serve three-year terms, and municipal elections are held in June.

Note 7: In Methuen, both the mayor and councillors are limited to three consecutive or non-consecutive terms (six years total).

Note 8: Description of Newton Board of alderman (council) - from home rule charter: "There shall be a Board of Alderman of twenty-four members which shall exercise the legislative powers of the City. Sixteen of these members, to be known as aldermen at large, shall be nominated and elected by the voters at large, two such aldermen at large to be elected from each of the eight wards of the City. The other eight members, to be known as ward aldermen, shall be nominated and elected by and from the voters of each ward, one ward alderman to be elected from each of the eight wards of the City. The Board of Aldermen shall be the judge of the election and qualification of its members."

	AT L	ARGE	DISTRICT	AT LARGI	E DISTRICT
COMBINATION:	Agawam (15)	.3	12	Marlborough (11) 4	7
Majority District (32)	Amesbury (9)	3	6	Melrose (11) 4	7
	Attleboro (11)	5	6	Methuen (Note 7) (9) 3	6
	Beverly (9)	3	6	New Bedford (11) 5	6
	Boston (13)	4	. 9	Newburyport (11) 5	6
	Braintree (9) (Note 4)	3	6	Northampton (9) 2	7
	Bridgewater	2	7	Peabody (11) 5	6
	Brockton (11)	4	7	Pittsfield (11) 7	4
	Chelsea (11)	3	8	Quincy (9) 3	6
	Chicopee (13)	4	9	Revere (11) 5	6
	Easthampton (9)	4	5	Salem (11) 4	7.
	Everett (Note 5)	7	18	Somerville (11) 4	7
3	Fitchburg (11)	5	6	Waltham (15) 6	9
	Greenfield (13) (Note 6)	4	9	Weymouth (11) 5	6
	Lawrence (9)	. 3	6	Winthrop (9) 2 + Council F	Pres.* 6
	Leominster (9)	4	5	Woburn (9) 2	7
	Lynn (11)	4	7		
	Malden (11)	3	× <b>8</b>		

<sup>\*</sup> Council President is separate elected office

	<u> </u>	AT LARGE	DISTRICT	Notes
COMBINATION:	Gardner (11)	6	5	
Majority At Large (10)	Gloucester (9)	5	4	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
	Holyoke (15)	8 .	7	
	Newton (24)	16	8	see discussion prior page (Note 8)
	Palmer (9)	5	4	
	Randolph	5	4	
	Watertown (9)	4 + Counc	cil Pres. 4	Council President is separate elected office
	West Springfield (9	) 5	4	
	Westfield (11)	6	5	
4	Worcester (11)	6	5	At large council candidate receiving the most
				votes serves as Mayor

COUNCIL-MANAGER: Barnstable, Bridgewater, Cambridge, Chelsea, Franklin, Lowell, Palmer, Randolph, Southbridge, Watertown, Winthrop, Worcester

All other cities are mayor-council.