# CITY FORM OF GOVERNMENT SUMMARY: Mayor - Council 8 39.999 - 30.000 POPULATION

Council - Manager 3

Mayor - Council		Council – Manager		
Beverly	HRC 1995	Chelsea	SPC 1994	
Braintree	SPC 2005	Randolph	SPC 2009	
Everett	SPC 1892	Watertown	HRC 1981	
Fitchburg	Plan B (MGL, c. 43)			
Gloucester	HRC 1974			
Holyoke	SPC 1897			
Marlborough	Plan B (MGL, c. 43)			
Wohurn	SPC 1897	2 2		

note: Everett and Holyoke elected charter commissions at municipal elections in 2009

#### CITY FORM OF GOVERNMENT SUMMARY: Mayor - Council 6 29,999 - 20,000 POPULATION Council – Manager 2

Mayor - Council		Council – Manager		
	Agawam	HRC 1971/spa 1988	Franklin	HRC 1978- revised 1995
	Gardner	SPC 1921	Bridgewater	SPC (effective 2010)
	Melrose	SPC 2005 (replaced 1899 ch	arter)	ar una De
	Northampton	SPC 1883	r	
	West Springfield	HRC 2000		

SPC – Special act charter (local petition approved by mayor and council followed by approval by state legislature and governor; local ratification prior to taking effect)

HRC - home rule charter adopted under provisions of state's home rule amendment to the state's constitution and MGL, c. 43B, "The Home Rule Procedures Act" Prepared by locally elected charter commission followed by vote at municipal election. (2 year time frame)

"Plan" – MGL, c. 43 provided model city government plans (A B, C, D, E, F). Currently 14 cities operate under Plans although they have been modified to various degrees by subsequent adoption of special acts. The Home Rule Procedures Act forbids the use of the petition process in c. 43 for adopting a plan. Medford is the most recent city to make use of some "Plan" features, adopting a special act charter in 1986 which referenced certain Plan A (strong mayor) elements.

# RECENT STRUCTURAL CHANGE ACTIVITIES:

### Cities:

West Springfield adopted city charter 2000 using Home Rule Amendment/charter commission route. Melrose accepted revised special act charter, 2005 – effective 2007 – mayor has 4 year term

Braintree adopted special act charter for mayor-council government in 2005 - effective 2007 - mayor has 4 year term

Everett and Holyoke elected charter commissions at 2009 municipal elections

## Town Councils:

Franklin revised charter in 1995 - reduced size of council to 9, all elected at large (had been 15 with both district and at-large members)

Randolph adopted special act charter for council-manager government at 2009 municipal election Council composed of 5 at large and 4 district members (total 9).

Bridgewater - adopted council-manager charter at spring 2010 municipal elections Council composed of 7 district and 2 at-large members (total 9).